Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

Recently, a small portion of people has been dedicating their time to leisure activities. This essay discusses some reasons why this situation has developed and outlines some negative effects towards a person as well as in a community. To begin with, there are some reasons which may support that hobbies are not that common anymore. One of them is the amount of work the majority of people are having and then, they are usually requested to work extra hours per week. As a result, they might need to use the relaxation time to finish their professional activities and they barely have free time to devote to their hobbies on weekends, for instance. Another important point is that people usually lack time management skills. This ability is quite important if a person seeks a balanced life, because the majority do not know how to set priorities and hence, they will not have time to do what appeals to them most. Unfortunately, the consequence of excessive work and poor organisation is almost irreversible, because they are difficult to identify and correct. Hobbies also contribute to a meaningful life as it addresses to personal satisfaction directly. Once an individual does not feed this internally, an unbalanced life is placed and soon, a highly stressed routine. To illustrate that, more fights are happening in traffic, because more people are out of control and then, influencing on a social disorder. Additionally, with a repetitive behaviour amongst the population, they tend to follow and copy the same pattern. Thus, local culture is being severely impacted by workaholic and disorganised life tendency. In conclusion, almost any person is keeping up with an extra activity in their daily routine. Leisure activity is not being a priority to the majority of people, because they are working excessively and nurturing a disorganised routine. Several are the consequences to each individual and to the society, such as unbalanced routine guided by meaningless stressed life and cultural modification.