‘All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.’ How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

In today's globalized world, learning a new language has become one of the great concerns of every person. Some people believe that children should start to learn a foreign language at an early age. I feel that learning a new language at an early age has various advantages, and I will explain why. The main advantage would appear to be learning a foreign language boosts brain functions, for example, children who are exposed early to other languages tend to be good at problem-solving, critical thinking, in addition to improving memory, concentration. In addition, Learning a foreign language from starting school, the young may develop the confidence to talk with foreigners and it’s good practice for their communication skills. Children who learn a second language before their teenage years are likely to achieve native-like pronunciation. Furthermore, the cognitive benefits of learning a language have a direct impact on a child's academic achievements. Bilingual children have improved reading, writing and math skills, and they generally score higher on a standardized test. Some people argue that teaching children a second language at an early age might affect badly mother tongue. It results in they might be mixing languages and worsen reading, writing skills. However, children might get confused initially, but they overcome. In conclusion, many valuable books are written in some international language such as English. Learning a foreign language will open doors for students to explore the world.