In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is positive or negative development?

In modern society, brands tend to highlight that their product is distinct or innovative in some way while promoting. And although there are certain reasons for companies to imply their difference from other similar items on the market, I firmly believe that such tendency may lead to false advertising and be disadvantageous for consumers. To begin, it is generally known that nowadays' market is developing at a significantly high speed. That results in numerous companies which offer practically the same products. In its turn, it creates a requirement for brands to have a unique selling proposition, an element that would distinguish one particular company from its competitors. And though this process may result in helpful and truly original items. For instance, fitness bands that monitor user’s heart rate, oxygen and stress levels. It also results in products that are positioned as novel and ground-breaking, while being practically useless. A very good example here is skincare companies, which manufacture all sorts of creams and serums that are supposed to be rejuvenating and have beneficial components. Whereas, in reality, the vast majority of those ingredients does not have any positive impact on skin. From my point of view, such advertising certainly negative for businesses in the industry as well as for the customers. Firstly, it may consequent in consumers’ mistrust. Hence, causing a considerable decrease in companies ’ profits and damaging brand image. Additionally, such promotions generate false needs among customers. As a consequence, buyers end up purchasing unnecessary products. Last but not least, manufacturers become quantity-oriented, instead of being quality-oriented, which results in producing needles and sometimes even harmful products. To sum up, due to the high level of competition on the market, companies create more and more products that are promoted as a novel. However, this is misleading in most cases. And consequently, lead to a not only plunge in sales but also negatively impact consumers’ loyalty to a particular brand.