In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

In contemporary society, there are many people working harder than others in both school and the workplace. In this, essay I will elaborate on the reason why someone will work harder than others and illustrate why I personally believe that working too hard is detrimental from the perspective of individuals and society. Firstly, Let’s look at the reasons why there are some people more diligent than others. In the first place, people are pressurized by their families and societies. Taking students in China as an example: as we all know that Chinese students work very hard for their academic performance. The factor behind this is simply for earning themselves the opportunities in the job market, where the competition is really fierce. Secondly, people concentrate much on one particular major field, just owing to their strong passion for it. The above reasons explain why there are some people with more incentives than others and are willing to dedicate their time and energy to do the things they are fascinated with. Even though people can reap a multiplicity of benefits from hard-working, working extremely hard also brings some demerits. On a personal level, working chronically under high pressure will inevitably bring people various health problems. For example, according to a recent-released health report, top academic performers mostly suffer from Cervical vertebral diseases; those who work nightshirts cannot avoid health issues both physically and mentally. On the social level, goalless hardworking will result in a social phenomenon called ‘Involution’ which define as a process in which additional input cannot produce more output. In such involuted society, ordinary people ’s living pressure roars,but the additional efforts are not necessarily productive. As a result, people are gradually losing their sense of happiness. They are being pushed forward,losing enthusiasm for work and life. In conclusion, even though there are tones of the reason for people to fight harder in life, due to the well being of human society in the long term, I still strongly believe that we should be very careful on the arrangement of our time and energy. Otherwise, we might bring ourselves problems and regrets in the future.