Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Some believe that the government should only invest money to improve public services rather than invest in the entertainment sectors such as arts, music and theatre. I strongly disagree with this idea as it has many advantages which will be discussed in detail. To begin with, it is irrefutable that developing public services would improve the lifestyle of people in the country. However, investing only in that sector would not increase the quality of living as there are more other areas which government should focus on. For instance, after a day-today hectic work schedule, people should relax in order to maintain a better physical and mental health and, listening to good music would help to achieve it. Also, most individuals would prefer to watch a movie in the evening with their loved ones and, this helps to strengthen the relationship with each other. When considering the above-mentioned facts, it is compulsory that the state should allocate more funds to improve these areas. Furthermore, Though in the past, becoming an actor/actress or a musician was a hobby, nowadays this becomes a primary occupation for some people. If one day the government decides not to spend money on this industry, then it would heavily impact these individuals who totally depend on this industry. For instance, when considering a theatre, it just not beneficial for the filmmakers and actors/actresses, it also beneficial for the staff who work in theatres. While this provides job opportunities, the government can earn tax money out of these earnings which can be used to improve these services. In summary, though the public services give direct benefits to people, other sectors such as music and movies, gives entertainment for them while it involves the development of the country by providing employment opportunities and taxes. Because of this reason, I reiterate that every country must invest more funds towards the arts which would give more perks to its people.