Many scientific institutes conduct research on live animals. Some people regard it as cruel and unnecessary while others believe it is justified in the interest of human welfare. Discuss the two views and give your reasons. Give reason for your answer.

Scientists have been using flora and fauna for scientific research for more than 2 decades. Most of the modern medicines consumed today were previously tested on animals to see if they were suitable for human consumption,yet there are a few who believe that these actions are cruel and unnecessary. This essay will look at both perspectives to judge whether using animals in experiments is humane or not. On one hand, researchers have used lab cultivated animals like mice and other insects to develop vaccines that save the world. For example, amidst the coronavirus pandemic in 2020, biologists have managed to engineer a safe and suitable vaccine for the population after conducting numerous tests on fauna such as rats. Furthermore, most of these animals have been bred in a lab and are most suitable for scientific testing as their genetic composition is very similar to that of humans. Therefore, it is apparent that medicines like vaccines have saved people time and time again because they have been tested on animals before being tested on people. Hence, it is clear that it is an absolute necessity to test these medicines on animal test subjects otherwise the population might even go extinct. On the other hand, using and maintaining lab rats in optimal environments can be both expensive as well as a tedious process. For instance, Pfizer, which is a global pharmaceutical company, has reported in its annual budget report that it spends more than $100,000 just to prepare these species for experiments. To cut down costs, a few drug enterprises often mistreat these creatures and subject them to inhumane conditions. In summary, it is conclusive that using mice in experiments can prove to be costly thus, a few organisations sometimes mistreat them and subject them to harsh conditions. In short, I believe that it is cruel to subject these creatures to harsh conditions to advance the frontiers of the field of medicine, nonetheless, with the rise of more and more animal rights organisations and more pressure exerted on these companies from activists, these animals might not need to suffer any longer.