Some people think that schools are no longer necessary because people can acquire information by internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A prevailing opinion is that educational institutions become unnecessary in that people gain access to information they need by internet. This statement, as I see it, is more than unjustified. Others, holding the view that individuals are capable to acquire useful knowledge and to realize learners’ autonomy, believe that netizen can enter a variety of websites such as Baidu, Google to collect and pick out information or relevant learning materials, thereby contributing to deal with their questions or confuses, which is not only convenient but also around zero cost. With the development of network infrastructure, distance education creates an online learning opportunity for learners, who can study subjects through buying online courses, enabling them to learn at home without having to go to school. However, undoubtedly, the meanings of schools ’ existence is far beyond a systematic learning course but a cultivating proces s because the essence of schools is to create a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere where students are protected from some bad thing s like violence or crime, to help students be physically and mentally healthy especially teenagers by shaping their sound perso nality and developing their maturity. Compared with the internet aiming at people of all ages, the subjects of schools is those immature children or teenagers who is vulnerable to the adverse effects of the outside world. those children or teenagers who are not mentally mature enough to discern right and wrong should receive education in schools, for they are vulnerable to the adverse effects of the outside world, especially from the internet. The main cause that the schools cannot be replaced is that they supported by governments instill the correct values into students, and on the contrary, the Internet is full of mixed information that needs people to distinguish true and false. Apart from the subject knowledge and skill sets, schools can not be replaced is that they bear responsibility to instill the correct moral values into students. In conclusion, even though there is large amounts of information available in the internet, the school still play an irreplaceable role in schooling and instruction in terms of academic knowledge and morality.