It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

There is a notion among parents and teachers that punishment helps in improving a child's behaviour, especially in understanding the good and bad. I certainly agree with this statement and punishment should depend on the type of wrong behaviour instead of severe discipline. It is natural for kids to not know the difference between good and bad and usually they fall prey to the wrong things. This is not acceptable to society and most of the time they are penalized heavily. As an example, children get influenced by movies especially violent movies and they may repeat them at home or school causing damage to humans and properties. These may result in delinquent behaviour in the future. In my opinion, the nature of penalising should depend on the type of wrongdoings instead of every mistake to be treated in a similar manner. In most,circumstances correction of error with a simple explanation of the right things to be done is sufficient however repeating the same needs to be dealt with in a harsher way. Harsher discipline can be in the form of beating with a stick or stopping them play their favourite games. In conclusion,it is better to discipline at a very young age than allowing it to continue which would cause embarrassment to the family. Hence punishment is always required to teach them the distinction of right and wrong.