Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for the charity, teaching sports to younger children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that unpaid community services should be a compulsory part of the educational system. While some people state that it can provide students opportunities to gain work experience, others do not agree with this proposal. Personally, I am convinced that voluntary work should be a part of high school programmes. To begin with, voluntary work adds to their work experience and gives them an opportunity to put to work the skills they have learned at schools and colleges. Students not only learn how to communicate with others and work as a team but also how to manage time and improve their organizational skills. Moreover, by joining compulsory work activities with charitable or community organizations, they will be encouraged to be more creative in problem-solving when confronting difficult circumstances. Useful skills and experience gained through compulsory work will not only be an asset on their CV but also increase their future employability. In addition, these programmes instil moral and ethical values in the children's minds which is degenerating today’s generation enormously. As a result, the crime rate in the high school age group could possibly be reduced. The supporters of this scheme also express that by helping the poor and disadvantaged, society will become a more ideal and worth-living place. In other words, such programmes prove to be beneficial to individuals in particular and the community in general. To sum up, despite some apparent drawbacks such as negligence in the learning process or unsafety, unpaid community services should be promoted in the early stages of education for the aforementioned reasons above.