It seems clear that obesity in today's society is to come extent due to the availability of fast food. Should governments place a tax on fast food to reduce the amount of fast food consumed?

It has seen, from people around the world, that obesity is on the rise due to many factors. One of the main causes can be considered the cuisine habit change in mankind. There are some efforts that the government can do to decrease the availability of junk food, for example, by demanding taxes on them. However, in my opinion, such policies might not be beneficial as the way it was intended to be at the first place. According to the lack of time in the modern lifestyle, which lead to the preference in choosing junk food over the healthy diet, the demand in using fast foods is soaring. Although, designating taxes by the government might be useful at a percentage, especially with the individuals who are more concerned with buying low-cost foods, but since there is no declaration for the reason there would be not quite helpful. As it can be seen in different expensive products, for instance, gold jewellery, clothes with famous brands, making them more expensive might even have an impact on becoming trendy and even one good attempt for showing off. Making people more aware of the appropriate choices in food production would be effective. This attempt can be achieved through advertisements, documentaries, or also in the big titles in magazines and newspapers. By having more knowledge in how to live a healthier life, society would rather choose a foodstuff which is rich in vitamins and minerals, containing low fat instead of high, that all will make this shift in their appetite more reasonable. For example, It can be seen recently, as the people are becoming more concerned for their planet by the advertisements that have been shown the great hazard in the universe. In summary, although it can be seen in some areas that their main policy is forbidding or rising the price of a product, in order to vanish the request of it. I strongly disagree with it and I acknowledge that always explaining the issue and helping others to realize the danger of their condition would be more effective.