Art classes, like painting and drawing are as important as another subject, should be a compulsory subject in high school. To what extend do you agree and disagree?

The value of art class has been noticed by secondary school educators and they believed that the curriculum such as painting and drawing should be added in the compulsory subject. I support this idea since the contents and abilities that students learn in art class can contribute to their cognition development and universal knowledge enhancement. Students should be required to learn painting because it has positive impacts on their brain development and multiple intelligence. Many research has revealed that drawing can engage in right-brain learning, which can benefit students ’ cognition improvement. Meanwhile, painting builds abstract thinking such as space perception and structural analysis. Therefore, the painting class should be considered a compulsory subject. Another reason for compulsory art class is that it can be combined with other subjects such as physics, biology, and chemistry, which allows students to review basic knowledge through practice. For instance, sketching helps students to relearn the basic principle of lights and life-drawing provides students with the opportunity to get familiar with the body structure. Therefore, students require to take art classes for it can implement a variety of knowledge and deepen the understanding of other subjects. Although the art class may occupy the duration of other compulsory subjects, it provides special skills and competencies that other subjects lack. Instead of imparting the basic principle of knowledge, painting and drawing class enlighten students ’ creativity and insight, which makes the art class as important as other subjects. In conclusion, the art class should be compulsory because students can not only review the essential knowledge but also develop students ’ multiple intelligence which cannot be replaced by other subjects.