In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern world, the transformation in family structure and family roles have become a major topic of concern in our society. Before an evaluation on whether this is a positive or negative trend is made, some of the diversity should be identified. A few drastic modifications could be observed in the group today. Most of the large clans are broken into the nuclear groups and leadership roles of the house are going to the female member of the group. A majority of the extended clans of three generations or more living under the same roof have been transformed into nuclear folk with only parents and children. There is also a noticeable change in terms of the role of the father and mother in the family. The responsibility of the males of the family has now been shared with their partners and now women have equal working opportunities compared with their partners. Accordingly, household duties are also shared equally between two sexes which could not have been imagined a few centuries ago. One research shows that nuclear households are more popular than large families around the world. I contend that this family structure is, without doubt, beneficial for all tribes. With the smaller family size, each family member could enjoy their freedom of life which increase happiness in life. For instance, parents have more time, compare with the past situations when they had to bear the responsibilities of taking care of both grandparents and children. Regarding the change of family roles, women may take benefit of having their own career and thus financial freedom. Men also gain from this change since they have been free from the financial pressure of the family. When we see the western world, most of the families prefer to live in a nuclear family as a result, old nursing homes is popular in those countries. To conclude, the most apparent revolution in today’s ordinary includes a decreased family size and a shared financial and ordinary responsibility of men and women. All the existing data has provided a strong foundation that these transitions are beneficial for all members of the family.