In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

With the speed of technological development, it is expected that soon enough automobiles will no longer need a driver, that is, they will employ automated driving technology and become self-driving. And despite there being certain drawbacks, I firmly believe that there are far more benefits of driverless automobiles. It is clear, that some disadvantages will occur if vehicles will no longer need a driver. Firstly, driverless transportation would mean that all cars and busses will be connected to one system and share data. As a result, an issue concerning security rises. Being linked to the same network would increase the possibility of hacking, leading to accidents and traffic. Another matter to consider is a glitch in a programme could also negatively affect road safety. Additionally, switching to driverless vehicles will create an unemployment problem, as public transport drivers, as well as delivery workers, will lose their job. However, those complications may be solved by the government strengthening security measurements and providing the public with more variety of jobs. In spite of possible downsides, self-driving motor vehicles would be of considerable help. It is generally known that the vast majority of accidents occur due to drivers’ irresponsibility. To give an example, people driving while being intoxicated, exhausted or distracted. Automated cars would solve this, by putting careless drivers in passengers’ seats. Secondly, vehicles being controlled by a programme, which will follow traffic laws, would positively influence safety on the roads as well as decrease traffic jams. Furthermore, self-driving cars would provide the public with an opportunity to conduct business on the way to a destination point, without creating any distractions. Hence, saving users’ time. Overall, driverless vehicles would be beneficial for society. From my point of view, positive effects, like safety and plunge in traffic, exceed any possible negative impacts.