These days people in some countries are living in a throwaway society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are its causes and what impacts can it have?

It has been observed that people around the world are using products for a small period and discard them. This essay will discuss the reasons for this development which include globalisation and higher incomes of people. It will also explain the impact that it could have overall. Due to globalisation, there is increasing variety in every product that is available all over the world. For instance, if a person wants to buy jeans from the USA, then there are so many websites available which offer a variety of jeans of different brands from that country without travelling there. In addition, there has been a rise in people ’s incomes compared to the past, due to which buyers are purchasing a lot of unnecessary products as per their want. Furthermore, advertisement plays a vital role to influence a customer to buy needless items; as a result, people end up buying excess goods. This development is negatively affecting the environment and society. It is creating a huge amount of garbage as people are using these products for a short span and again buy a replacement product. For example, users end up buying the latest version of Apple phones whenever the company launches a new version in the market. They discard the old phone or sell it at a low price. This creates excess phones in the market and also creates waste. Consequently, excess products are treated as garbage which creates pollution in society. To conclude, the ever-increasing demand and income are the problems why people use products for a short period and then scrap them. This pollutes the environment and society as it helps to increase the garbage. However, such an issue can be controlled if people buy few products and keep control of their desires.