Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Gender equality in education is a major concern. Therefore, some public believe that the number of graduate of both genders should be equally accepted in all majors. However, I am of the opinion that as long as the graduate’ potential and ability meet the requirements, they can be accepted regardless of sexes. Firstly, it is extremely difficult to achieve and maintain the balance in the number of male and female graduate. All candidates have their own skills, ability and aspirations that fit specific fields of study. Therefore, accepting graduate in terms of gender may lead to discriminating quality of education, as potential candidates are limited because of their sexes. Moreover, if gender is a part of the admission requirements, it is easy to predict that gender inequality will increase, which is supposed to be avoided. Secondly, the aim of education is to encourage people to pursue their dreams and develop their potential. Therefore, skills, abilities and achievements should be the most important and only standards. Entering a place where people are at a similar levels and aspirations will be a great opportunity for students to be motivated and get better. If people cannot be free to dictate their own study and future, society will waste a huge amount of talented and helpful people. In conclusion, I strongly believe that education should not include the requirements of gender for any reason. It will not reduce the problem of inequality, but increase it instead. The admission should strictly base on merit, achievements and aspiration.