Young people today are better qualified than they were in the past. Some people argue that this is because competition for jobs is greater than it used to be. Others say that people only continue their education because the opportunities exist for them to do so. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are a variety of arguments as to why adolescents are more educated than they used to before. While some believe it is due to the growing competition over employment, others believe that abundance of opportunities to carry on with their education has made them this way. Between the two I agree with the latter. Job market has grown fierce over the years and for one to be employed there are far more challenges to overcome. Unemployment rate has been on the rise for quite some time. With machines and technology taking over, organizations do not hire workers as much as they used to, hence the number of vacant jobs ready to be filled by a new person is shrinking. Furthermore, companies require their employees to be more skilled. For example, if an individual intends to work as a developer in a tech company, she might soon find out that most companies demand sufficient knowledge of the field in order to hire a novice in a paid position. Both of these reasons encourage young workers to strive to learn as much as they can about their job. These days people have better options to pursue their educational goals. Never before has the education system offered this much ease to students to be able to carry on their education to the highest of degrees. With the advent of online courses teenagers do not feel bounded by place or time to enroll in the field of their choosing. Plus, the number of educational organizations has increased by a great deal which means pupils with wider range of talent may attend their courses than before. To sum up, although competition over jobs is more fierce than before, I believe the fact that teenagers have more opportunities to learn new things is more influential in them being more qualified workers than before.