In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular ? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas ?

In many different parts of the world, there are very few genres when it comes to movies, TV shows or theatre which are liked by majority of the audience and out of those, crime genre is one of them. People engage themselves with this through two ways, either by watching dramas or by reading novels which are based on crime. This essay narrates my personal view in terms of why people find these shows or books attractive. In my opinion, crime genre is more famous within younger generation as it gives them a thrilling experience. They get entertained by watching different TV series which are based on crimes and also in some cases where they don’t like watching TV, they entertain themselves by reading novels. Other category of people apart from youngsters who like crime shows or reading crime based novels have a different image. For them, this is more of getting an understanding of those people ’s mentality who are playing the part of criminals. That is, they are more interested in knowing the reason behind such criminal activity for instance, person who is playing the character might have suffered violence in his/her childhood or his younger days were full of struggle where he/she found difficulties in fulfilling his/ her basic requirements. Another category of people who have an inclination towards crime based shows are generally not of good intentions. They watch these type of dramas to get an idea which they can implement in their real life by threatening people in order to take any kind of revenge or to perform any malicious activities. To conclude, I believe that people should watch shows or read books which are crime based, if they consider this only for their entertainment purpose.