Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is sometimes argued whether tourists from overseas should be charged more than native residents for visiting monuments or not. I partly agree with this idea. On the one hand, it is understandable why many argue that foreign visitors should not pay more money for tourist sites. One of the main reasons is that it may create discrimination among them and lead to negative misunderstanding. This is because in these places, abroad travelers and local people are provided the same services, so foreign visitors would confuse why they have to pay more money than native visitors and they may think that the owners of these are abusing them. Moreover, they would feel that they are not welcomed by this country. As a result, they would perhaps decide not to travel there. This will lead to the reduction of tourists, which affects the country ’s economy dramatically in the long run. Another reason is that the holiday of foreign people contributes a considerable amount of money to the host country through the tax system and additional services such as goods, food, souvenirs, accommodation, and so on. Therefore, it is unfair to require them to pay an extra entrance fee. On the other hand, there are many reasons why the aboard visitors must expend extremely large amounts of cash to see and use the valuable monuments. First, most of the traditional and historical places are state-owned and the government funds those from the tax they collect from the local residences. It means that local residences are already paying a portion of the ticket money through the tax they pay to the government. Therefore, local residents should receive a partial discount when buying tickets to visit those monuments. Second, paying less will create favorable conditions and incentives to encourage people to visit the national monuments more. One of the main purposes of the existence of monuments is to preserve and spread the history and culture of that country. It is the people of the country who most need to be exposed to and understand these histories and cultures. Therefore, local people should be allowed to pay less for visiting historical and cultural sites. Finally, the foreign people will be encouraged to carefully preserve the important monuments if they have a large amount of money for visiting there. In conclusion, although some people claim that the fee is paid for visiting tourist sites should be equal for abroad people and local inhabitants, I think that foreigners should outlay more and more money for some above reasons.