Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The evolution of technology has vastly facilitated conversation between people and letters are becoming obsolete. There are many ways as mobile phones and the internet to communicate quickly and easier such as Facebook, Whatsapp, Instagram, Twitter, e-mail that are types of modern communication used nowadays. At present, the internet is helping people maintain connections fast anywhere. For instance, I am from Brazil living in Australia and I am really far from my family, but I can talk to my parents by video call or message and I never thought to send a letter to them if I have quicky and best way to communicate. On the other hand, I think letters are more romantic and sentimental. To give an illustration, last year my best friend sent me a letter from Brazil, we always talk by message, but when I received it I felt different emotions. Obviously, it took many days to arrive, but it made my day special. In conclusion, technology is improving communication day by day and I agree that write letters will decrease more and more until it becomes unnecessary.