There is a problem today that copyright materials such as music, films and books are freely available on the internet with the result that the owners of the works lose money. Do you feel that this is a good or bad thing?

Through the widespread of information transformed via the internet, there are many different topics that have been send and received. The problem arises when these transformed materials are illegally have stolen by the owner. There are movies, music, and many books that can be downloaded without getting permission or purchasing. Not to mention that this activity can be presumed a kind of robbery, and the rights of the inventors or publishers are neglected. I strongly believe that it is not acceptable. Although, there are some unusual situations that should be considered. There are people in some societies that are under the policy of censorship by their own government. Consequently, for them, being able to have access to art and culture is a bless and making this available for them is the least effort that other societies can do. There are different policies in regards to being able to have access to the data through the internet for varied societies. In some developing countries, such as North Korea and Iran, there are limitations. Therefore, the individuals are suppressed and not even permitted to buy the materials they want to download. The societies living under the dictatorship strategy are not permitted to be opposed to any knowledge which would make them more aware of the cruelness of their leaders. Helping those nations to be connected to the world’s news and culture is through the availability of that information, which would be a great help for them. On the other hand, there are many efforts that have been done to produce a piece of art and knowledge unrelated to whether it is music or movie, or even any other kind of production. All of them deserve to get paid for the time and talent they had used. To be illustrated, a composer spent hours and hours composing, having experienced years of education and practice to achieve this unique skill, they should earn money in regards of their work to enrich humankind’s culture. Otherwise, downloading a piece of art, for,example a movie, without considering all the works of hundreds of people can be considered a robbery. to summarize, as every person has the right to earn something in return for their time and effort in society, it should be the same procedure when it comes to the downloaded material via the internet. However, in some parts of the world people are not authorized to have access to any material that their government had forbidden. Therefore, eliminating the laws of copyright specifically for them would be helpful.