It is very clear that English should be the primary foreign language taught in all schools around the world. Learning a different language before English is, in today’s world, a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that learning English as a main overseas language should be mandatory and thus, studying another language before English is considered to be futile. This essay disagrees with this statement as mastering another language is always beneficial to one as it deepens the connection with other community and their cultures. It is an undeniable fact that English is one universal dialect spoken by millions of people around the world. It is also the language of the internet and other media. In addition, knowing English not only presents one with more chances to study in other countries but also provides one with better career opportunities in prestigious companies. As a matter of fact, English is known to be spoken by more than 400 million people around the world and is also the official language in 53 countries. Therefore, learning English as the primary foreign language might presents the learners with many benefits and chances than otherwise. That being said, it is also undoubtedly true that knowing other languages is not futile as it deepens the connection with people in different countries and to better understand their cultures. In the same manner, travelers are more easily able to connect and interact with the places and its people in a way that is often inaccessible to those without the language. In fact, people who speak more than one language have seen to have improved memory, problem-solving and critical thinking as well as enhanced concentration and the ability to multi-tasks. In short, learning other languages besides English has proven benefits and should be encouraged. To conclude, certainly learning English language has numerous advantages as has been discussed, but I firmly believe that one should not limit its knowledge to only one language when learning other languages have always opened door to more opportunities as mentioned in this essay.