In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation

Citizens from certain regions prefer owning a home to renting one. The reasons for this phenomenon are constituted by the social status and stability possessing a house brings about. In my opinion, this is a beneficial development, as living on one's own property can benefit the economy of the nation in the long term. One motivation to purchase a home is to gain respect from others. For instance, in China, people, especially males, who have their homes to their names are regarded as decent and wealthy. Status may not sound like a practical reason at first, but when placed in the context of marriage, it proves to be a critical tool to expand one's range of potential partners. Another reason for the preference of private houses over lease property is security in life. Renting a home is problematic in the sense that an increase in market price will worsen one's financial situation. In addition, tenants may be asked to leave unexpectedly by the landowner. Purchasing a home eradicates all of these issues, hence in some countries, it is a popular mode of accommodation. In my opinion, I think this is a desirable circumstance, not only because of the social status and stability discussed above but also due to a potential increase in GDP it suggests. Owning a home means complete authority over one's living environment, which allows greater comfort, privacy, and ultimately life quality. With improved living conditions, citizens tend to be more productive and generous. Over time, the former increases supply while the latter boosts demand, leading to a growth in national income without inflation pressures. In some regions, the trend is to own a home instead of renting one. Two possible causes for this are enhanced social acceptance and security. Considering the higher life quality and eventually an increase in GDP this development is able to realize, I think it should be considered positive. Therefore, it is recommended that governments should encourage more citizens to purchase homes.