It is shown that many criminals have a low level of education. Some people argue that the best way to reduce crime is to educate criminals in prison to help them find jobs when they leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

Studies show that many offenders are not well-educated. For this reason, some people suggest the best way to lower crime is to give criminals the chance to receive enough education while in prison. I agree with this statement to some extent, but I would argue that this is the best way to reduce crime rate. On the one hand, it is hard for people who have not been educated well to get a decent job, let alone for those with criminal records. These people find it hard to make a living therefore become an instable factor to the society. Moreover, with limited education, people might not realize that such behaviors are against the law. For example, underage youths perhaps do not know that shoplifting is considered as an illegal behavior because they have not been told or learned so. It can hence be suggested that by providing proper education to these people, crime rate can be reduced. On the other hand, there are numerous lawbreakers who have obtained good education. News of high-intelligence crime cases are common these days. People therefore argue that low education background may have been affecting the rising crime rate, yet it is definitely not the decisive element for there are various causes that may motivate a criminal act. By comparison, it would be more effective and efficient for governments and other related departments to strengthen supervision and apply a more severe punishment on illegal activities. In conclusion, while I agree that governments should attach more attention to education in prison to offer help and prepare the culprits for the life after being released, we must not overestimate the effectiveness of this hence other related measures should be taken in order to lower the crime rate.