Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

There has been some people state that, while staying abroad, the inability to communicate properly with others due to language boundary may lead to detrimental effects, both social and practical. Personally, I am completely in support at this opinion. As for the social problems caused by speaking a foreign language, you may have a hard time understanding what the locals to say. They speak very quickly, sometimes skip over a word or put in a phrase to which have increased the difficulty level. A foreigner, regardless of how fluent they are, cannot hope to comprehend the meaning of slangs that people always throw around. It is true the other way around too. It would be a serious challenge for the locals to make out your words through your strange accents. There are many words that, though an accent, sound like others, which is confusing. This will ultimately leads to your alienation from the surrounding community, a stranger in a stranger place. Then comes the practical ones. With the lack of understanding between individuals, aids become something very much rare. Usually, the locals are quite hospitable to stranger. They would help you with the way around, famous attractions and even let you stay the night. However, none of these would be real if there is no sufficient communication. You would be left on your own, where dangers may kick unbeknown to you. You might even lose some opportunities that can change lives because of language problems. For example, a job was to be handed to either you or a local. Since your language skill is worse than the other, you lose the job, despite the fact that you might be better. In conclusion, being in a country where you must speak another language can and will results in many unwanted issues.