A family has a great influence on children’s development, but the influence outside the home plays a bigger part in children’s life. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Children in this world learn things not only from their families but also from the outside environment. Consequently, there has been a growing body of opinion that much as families play a vital role in kids’ development, the influence of external factors is the most prominent. Being a rational mind, however, I take issue with this notion, for I am of the view that a child learns the basic norms and rules from families and he or she spends most of the time with parents. Among the ratiocination to buttress my stance, the one that deals with the significance of families as a primary institution for imparting values to infants. In other words, a child learns what he or she sees in the family and implies those same things in his or her personal life. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 99% of adolescents’ temperament, behaviour and values completely match their parents’ characteristics. Therefore, a family has the biggest impact on children’s development. Another critical rationale in reference to why a family has a decisive role in developing toddlers’ disposition is necessarily synonymous with spending maximum time with parents. To be more precise, from an early stage to young life, parents and other family members try to spend quality time with their children in order to teach different things about life. As a consequence, it would next to impossible for a child to learn about practical life provided that his or her family does not give guidance properly. To exemplify, researchers around the world find that only because of parents’ instructions and supports, a child learns to deal with outsiders. In conclusion, even though every child has to mingle with outsiders, their impacts on the child ’s development are not significant because families start to instil values from the beginning by spending quality moments with their children.