Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Discuss both sides.

Parents are always concerned about the education of their children since the beginning. Pertaining to this, some guardians believe that learning mathematics is not useful and should be scrapped from the syllabus, while some critics oppose it, as they think it is useful in daily life. This essay will discuss both these views with supporting examples. On the one hand, few people often give paramount importance to only those subjects that are beneficial for their child’s future. This is mainly due to the fact that nowadays children make their career in different fields such as sports, singing, dancing, which means that, they would not require mathematics in their career to get a good job. For instance, a cricketer does not require good numbers in maths to become captain of a cricket team, instead, he needs to perform best in the match. Furthermore, children can focus on those subjects which they find interesting so that they achieve good results. Seen in this light, mathematics can be removed from primary school as per some parents. On the other hand, the detractors do not agree with the aforementioned standpoint, because they think that this subject is useful for day to day life. The reason for this is if a person does not know the fundamentals of numbers, then it will not be easy for that person to make daily transactions. In other words, to handle a huge amount of money in future, an individual should be aware of how to do basic calculations. For example, while purchasing a phone, a person must know how much amount is going to be charged and how much is the discount given by the shopkeeper. Hence, it becomes apparent that mathematics is an important part of academics. To conclude, there are some people who opine that maths is not an essential subject as per future needs, whereas some parents state that this is an important subject for every day to day life. If parents want their children to become smart in numbers, then they must allow mathematics to be a part of the syllabus.