Government should spend money on railway rather than road. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In many countries there is always a debate on how governements should spend their money between railways and roads. Few people argue that spending money on railways is more important than road. I believe that governments need to spend more money on roads as the number of people using roads will be more when compared to railways. Firstly, in many nations railways are mainly used for long distance travels only. In few places like major cities, railways are used for local commute. In any place we consider the major transport option for people will be by road only as it is more easier and convenient. Secondly, we can easily reach to any destination by road transport as every place has road system in place. It is more cheaper to choose to travel by roads when compared to trains. This is because for governments to have railway system in place, they need huge infrastructure. So, it is more convenient to develop roads when compared to railways. Furthermore, developing road system leads to more development in the country as roads can connect any remote place at reasonable cost. The funds required to lay a railway line is far more when compared to roads. Moreover the charges for railway travel is very high in contrast with roads. So developing roads has more advantages than railways. To conclude, it is very economical to develop road system as it is accessible by all groups of society. Be it rich or poor, every person has easy access to roads and roads can take us to any possible destination. It is not the case when we see railways. So governments needs to spend more money on improving the roads condition.