A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In order to gain importance in modern society, some communities believe that the only possible way is through social symbols or a materialistic approach. Other old customs such as traditional values sympathy or empathy is outdated. In my opinion, I agree, with lots of luxury advertisements and the constant social media updates people tend to incline towards more materialistic possession. One of the reasons is social media exposure and the constant urge to be the best among everyone. Especially, teenager compares their worth to others by Twitter followers, branded clothes or costly electronic devices. Furthermore, sometimes they even get influenced by their own friends and end up buying expensive stuff just to show off. As a result, some of them starts to lie or spends the education money on non-essential and costly things. For instance, schools and universities often complain about, students bad behaviour and wrong attitude towards other less rich kids on the campus. Another reason is that people do not stay in joint families anymore. Earlier, youngsters, as well as adults, use to stay with parents and grandparents, they used to constantly make them remind of honour, kindness and trust. Moreover, in older times, grandparents used to teach and raise their grandkids with so much love, empathy and loyalty. Although we all are still connected with our ancestors legacy by family name, we tend to keep forgetting the root lessons and values taught to us. Hence, due to nuclear families and global residency, the tie between the traditional values and culture is diminishing. For example, in my early childhood I used to celebrate Diwali with lots of guests and family members, there used to be a very strict rule to bow down to every single senior member who visits the house and pay them respect. In conclusion, I agree that due to the constant social networking availability and advertisement, people find it easy to judge one's status with their profile. In addition, staying away from home and not practising cultural values makes the effect stronger.