More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

A growing number of wild species are on the brink of extinction, and many others are on the endangered list. One of the main causes of the extinction of wildlife is poaching. Owing to the fact that some animals have commercial value, hunters exploit them to get monetary benefit out of them. Human hunts animals not only for food but also for aesthetic products. For example, Animal's skin is used widely for making winter wear and leather products and this leads to indiscriminate killing and the annihilation of this species. Another reason for the extinction of many creatures is deforestation which is done to facilitate the expansion and development of urban areas. Due to this, creatures lose their natural habitat and this puts their lives at risk. Many of them are forced to wander into villages for food. Thus, the numerical growth of wildlife and their life cycle is disrupted causing the endangerment of wildlife. There are several measures that the government and the public can take to undo the damage done to wildlife. First and foremost, the government should launch nationwide campaigns to sensitise people about the importance of conserving wildlife. Another possible solution is to establish breeding programs so that there can be an improvement in the number of younger ones. For instance, In India, a very rare species of Bengal Tigers which was on the verge of annihilation has been saved by such breeding programmes. In addition, there should be strict laws to prevent poaching so that destruction due to human intervention can be avoided. To conclude, human activities such as deforestation and mindless hunting are the major reasons for the extinction of wildlife. By enacting strict laws that stop or at least reduce deforestation and poaching, wild animals can be saved from the brink of annihilation.