In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is widely perceived that a country should invest more in building infrastructure equipped to run fast trains between cities. While this perception appears to be more aspirational by people, many contradict to focus more on the improvement of existing public transport. I am of the opinion that the allocation of funds should be made according to the requirements of a country. This essay will elucidate both these aspects in detail. Firstly, a lot of countries are currently facing a trend of massive traffic jams in their major cities. Because these jams generally impact the air quality and waste a lot of time for their citizens, therefore nations ought to focus largely on developing public transport. For instance, in Mumbai city, the government has decided to stress more on widening of the roads for buses and sanctioning more metro projects to resolve the prolonged issue of traffic jams on the roads. If the country has many such populous centres, the policymakers must ensure that the investments should be on improving existing public transport. Conversely, in countries where the job opportunities are concentrated on specific locations that require long-distance travelling from one city to other, faster inter-city trains might be the best available solution. In fact, Japan had many commercial centres located on the outskirts that were typically quite away from residential towns. As a result, they had to construct bullet trains so that on daily basis, thousands of people could commute to their workplaces without any hurdles. To conclude, the decision of whether to invest heavily in existing public transit systems or constructing new railway lines that can run bullet trains depends largely on the current status of traffic problems in the prime cities and the proximity between job locations and residential places. In the former case, more funds must be deployed to improve prevailing public transport. However, in the latter, a large amount of money should be spent on advanced trains.