Being a celebrity- such as a famous film star or sports personality- brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

Being a public figure such as a movie star or professional athlete they may have both perks as well as downsides. However, in my opinion, I believe that the benefits of being a celebrity outweigh the negatives. One obvious issue with being a known figure is the lack of privacy in their private life. As they decide to go anywhere, they usually find themselves surrounded by their fans as well as media reports who instantly publish stories about their appearance in the news. As a result, they may feel stalked and depressed as they cannot exert a normal life in their leisure time. A further downside is that their reputation might be negatively affected inadvertently. By this I mean they might face heavy criticism from society for being involved in a false advertising campaign, for instance. Having said that, one obvious benefit to being a famous person is that it is a lucrative business. In today’s fast-paced world, there are a substantial number of people are willing to pay for tickets, for example, to watch their favourite superstars. Consequently, these superstars can obtain high living standards from the profits they gain. What is more, celebrities can be associated with encouraging the public to do worthwhile actions. They are widely influenced by their audience because of their actions in real life. For instance, in Egypt, Ahmed Helmy is a living example as he participates in charity activities most of the time. Thus, many of his fans, including myself, are keen on doing charity as well. In conclusion, although there are a number of problems that being a celebrity - brings predominately less-privacy life – the benefits that it brings to the celebrities such as achieving high-quality life and being a role model are impossible to ignore