Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree Discuss both views and give you opinion

It has been a matter of debate whether hiring organizations should solicit an individual’s information such as their marital status, how they spend their leisure time etcetera. This essay will illustrate both views and my strong belief that in such development consequences overwhelm the benefits because seeking personal information from a potential candidate can to biased behaviour during his employment. On the one hand, a question that intrigues me, how it is appropriate for a company to gather prospective employee’s data pertaining to their hobbies, marital status etc? The one reason, I could think of is that, not only the employer can gauge whether the particular job seeker is a best- fit to the desired profile, but also it will help them to retain the employees if candidates are provided with the job roles, they are interested in. For example, a job position requiring the incumbent to travel frequently across various countries, will not be suitable for a married person due to his family commitments. Though such conditions may give an extra edge to the employer, this can result in privacy breaches and biased behaviour towards concerned employees. Having said that, I strongly opine that requesting personal data during hiring periods could lead to prejudice biasness which can result in losing a qualified candidate. In other words, such discriminatory practices can result in employee dissatisfaction once they are onboarded. As per my corporate experience, employees who are singles or bachelors are handed over plentiful opportunities to showcase their skills than those who have family commitments. Such treatment gives rises to frustration among peers. On top of it, collating private information brings the risk of privacy breaches, ultimately paving the path for the conflicting environments at the workplace. Hence it is evident that, asking for personal details during recruiting new job seekers is not a good practice. Having considered the range of argument, I firmly believe, though sometimes personal information may help recruiters in scrutinizing the best candidate for a job role, however, such practices give rise to discriminatory behaviour and issues of privacy leakage, resulting in the unhealthy company work environment