Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Getting a job nowadays has become one of the most difficult tasks due to the large number of applicants competing for a single spot. To assess all the people applying for the job employers have started asking them for their personal information like their marital status and their interests. There are a few who believe that this intrudes on the candidate's privacy while others strongly disagree, stating that it is vital to assess this information to pick out a viable employee. In this essay, I will state both sides and my opinion on the topic as well as justify it with relevant examples. On one hand, when employers collect personal information of an individual, they are able to better understand the person's motives as well as what drove him to apply for the job. A survey conducted by the New York Times in 2020, has concluded that 80% of employers who collected data on their candidates were able to identify the best potential employees for the job. Furthermore, learning about their employees family status allowed them to offer benefits like better insurance and bonuses. Therefore, when an employee asks about the interviewee's personal life they are able to offer more benefits. On the other hand, when an employee gives his personal information to an employer, he or she might be discriminated against. For instance, it was said that when an employer found out about a candidates ancestry, 76% of the time that applicant was discriminated against. In addition, the employer could also treat people who had a similar ancestry to him or her better than the others by offering them more vacation days and also a higher salary. Although labour laws that have been put in place to prevent this from happening exist they have not been very effective in such matters. In summary, when an employer receives personal data about a candidates ancestry, they might discriminate against them. In conclusion, after a thorough analysis of the advantages and disadvantages of handing out personal data to the interviewer, I believe that this event has greater drawbacks than advantages. Hence, the idea of an interviewee giving this information to the interviewer will not be supported.