For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays, people’s values have changed and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than art. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to draw people’s attention to art?

As time goes by, it is considered that the general stressed values should be practical such as science rather than arts by some people. Though it is understandable their point of view in some ways, aesthetic values still should not be neglected considering crucial factors to human beings. Firstly, as I see it, the reason why there are negative opinions about arts is that some people think of arts as time-consuming and not productive,unlike other values. To be more specific, they see the only value of arts is just showing some sophisticated visual pictures or statues to the public and they think that is all. In addition, they reckon artworks are for some limited range of people, not everyone, since some people do not enjoy appreciating the art while there are tons of population who love using the newly developed technologies such as useful smartphone apps. Aside from that, they might think arts can affect us little though other realistic factors do. On the other hand, their perception toward arts could be improved once they get to know better about the reasonable reasons of the precious values of arts. To be more specific, if they are educated about why arts are essential in lives in school and other materials such as TV, newspaper and books, it would be easier to make the agreement about the arts. Plus, it is also important that they should be informed that the very foundation of every science and technology is art. Not to mention artworks can bring us the sense of mentally delighted feelings, we should know that by being motivated by some specific artistry, a lot of practical and realistic skills have been made. For example, there are several crucial scientific facts were discovered because some scientists were inspired by magnificent artworks and they had the guts to give it a try even though they looked absurd and not possible. If these kinds of direct relations between aesthetical worth and practical values could be highlighted to the public, they would be attracted to arts and there would be more attention to non-practical worth in the end. To sum up, considering the current reality and lack of interest in art these days, it is high time to educate the public and mentioned the correlation between the arts and practical skills so that everyone could recognise the importance of arts.