In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, more and more businesses are claiming their products to be new in a certain way, in their advertising. This essay will discuss some possible reasons why they do so and also some negative points of this development. Some people are crazy about having the latest and most trending things in their collection. People are more inclined towards this kind of trend more than ever before. Addressing consumers' demand is the biggest concern of businesses. That is the reason businesses emphasize on new features. For instance, having the latest version of cell phones is kind of a trend these days. No surprise, when newspapers, social media, and other advertising platforms advertise the latest version of cell phones so frequently. Businesses follow the trend of consumers, to gain more and more profit. It is hard for some people to resist the desire of having new things. More and more people these days try to follow the latest trend to maintain their status, which sometimes causes problems between parents and their children. Parents sometimes find it hard to fulfil their children's demands of having the latest stuff. Teenagers feel jealous when they see their friends with the latest version of cell phones and ask for the same from their parents. The second point is that businesses set high prices for products with new features. Even though new products are claimed to have new features, but they just differ slightly from the previous model. People expend more money to buy these new things without questioning themselves; do they need that? To conclude, new products are highly advertised to gain profit. This development has some negative effects on consumer society.