A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays in Hong Kong, because of materialistic and competitive Hong Kong society, It is common to say people with great value is determined by his or her social stature and material possessions. To great extent, I do agree that old-school values namely honour, kindness and trust were comparatively less vital. Firstly, being a global financial centre, Hong Kong has long been a city of capitalism. People in Hong Kong fully utilised their capital gain through different markets such as stocks and foreign exchange markets in buying properties. It is to everybody’s knowledge that the housing problem is the biggest issue around citizens. As a result, people will be labelled as winners in life when they can afford to purchase private-owned properties. Better still, the more properties people hold, the more appreciation will be given to them. Secondly, Hong Kong is a competitive city. The Gini coefficient of Hong Kong was more than 0.5 in the past decade which means the income or wealth inequality in Hong Kong was problematic. Hong Kong citizens, therefore, have to work very hard in order to escape from the poverty line. Over the past couple of ten years, many famous celebrities, for,example Lee Ka-Shing and Lee Shiu Kei,established high social places thus named to be a person’ worth. On the other hand, honour, kindness and trust are just someone’s personality. We hardly justify the value of a people sorely with their personal quality. We seldom describe them purely with the old-fashioned values In modern society. In conclusion, the worth of a person closely links up with their social status and material possessions owing to the high competitiveness and materialism in Hong Kong. To great extent, I agree values in the old days were no longer essential compared with social position and material possessions.