It is sometimes thought that people who travel outside of their own country are more tolerant and understanding of others. To what extent do you agree?

These days, more and more people prefer to go abroad for various reasons like vacation, study, job,etc. It is often thought that such people are more patient while dealing with others. In my opinion, visiting a foreign country does make people more tolerant, however, it is not the only reason for this.I will discuss my viewpoints in the following paragraphs and justify my opinion. People often travel to foreign nations because of their work or studies and sometimes in order to have a long vacation. There they need to interact with local people who have different perspectives on various things and a completely different mindset. In order to ensure that their travel is enjoyable and peaceful, tourists must adapt to the local customs and beliefs. This instills an attitude of tolerance and makes people accept other's opinions and thoughts even if they differ from their own. In addition to this, it also develops an open mindset towards a lot of things. For instance, I had a friend who used to despise gay people and their right to live a good life. However, after visiting the U.S, her mindset changed and she accepted that they are an important part of our society. On the other hand, it is not true that only those people who travel to a country outside of their own are understanding and accepting of others. These qualities can be imbibed in people from a very age by a variety of methods such as by encouraging them to read stories that teach good moral values. Also, people who live in a city with many nationalities residing there, are automatically exposed to people with different cultures, mindset, rituals and ethnicities. As they interact with such people on a daily basis, qualities like tolerance and acceptance get instilled in them over a period of time. To conclude, it is a wrong conception that those who travel to a new country are better at empathizing with others than those who don't. This a quality which can be acquired if good values are taught to children at a young age. Citizens residing in cities with multi-cultural residents are also accepting and understanding of others.