Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function well if individuals were free to do as they please. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Without due restrictions, society would be in complete chaos. I agree with the view that laws and rules established by the government should be seen as a necessity for ensuring citizens’ well-being in society. Undoubtedly, although laws and rules are the cornerstones of an orderly society, regulation should be a means rather than an end. It is possible that some rules become so harsh that most citizens feel their rights are violated. When it happens, the government should respect the will of the majority and reconsider the relevant rules and legislations. Nevertheless, the importance of laws should not be ignored by the public. There are two reasons for this, one of which is that as earth’s resources are limited and insufficient to satisfy every people, laws provide the necessary criteria to help people address the conflict of interest. For example, poverty law helps citizens to identify property ownership and encourages them to avoid fights over a piece of land or personal property. Furthermore, laws and rules force people to live up to their obligations. Without the deterrent effect of heavy fines, drivers would be more likely to exceed the speed limit or drive after drunk, despite the possibility of hitting other cars or pedestrians. Similarly, without some environmental regulations and laws, there might be an increasing number of factories that release pollutants to rivers or air, which could lead to a series of environmental problems. To summarize, I believe that the rule of law is essential for any harmonious society, but it should not be regarded as the only way to protect citizens’ basic rights and benefits.