Older people who need employment have to compete with younger people. What problems will be caused? And what are the solutions?

With the development of society, more and more senior residents tend to stay in the labour market for a longer period of time. The competition for limited jobs between the old and the young will inevitably cause various problems and measures can be taken for these issues. Having both old and young people in the job market can lead to several downsides for both groups. Firstly, jobs that demand physical strength and technological innovation are relatively unfriendly to older people. For example, companies such as Google or Microsoft would prefer employees who are computerate and not many people from the older generation are qualified. Secondly, for positions that require rich experiences and proficient communication skills, younger applicants are more likely to be in a disadvantageous position compared with the more senior ones. If it becomes even more difficult for young people, newly graduates, in particular, to find a decent job and make a living, other severe social problems, such as lower birth rates and marriage rate, higher divorce rate and other factors that may cause instability of society will arise. Measures should be taken in order to tackle and prevent the above problems. To begin with, governments can adopt policies to increase pension and other welfares for the retired. With a stable income and insurance, most elderly people would not choose to continue working. Moreover, other forms of organizations can be established for the aged group, for many of them feel the need to find jobs due to the lack of a sense of belonging. Take the universities for senior citizens as an example, older people can choose to reenter schools after retirement, learn something they have always wanted to when they were young, join groups like the choir to make new friends. For those who are in good conditions to continue working, governments should, together with companies, create more job positions for these people to make a contribution to society. In conclusion, many problems related to the competition between older and younger job applicants occur, and I believe more steps can be taken that are in favour of solving these issues.