Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

In today's world, it is believed by some part of a population that children should be taught the art of cuisine at school while others disagree and claim that the focus should be on other subjects. To begin with, on the one hand, it is important for students to study the science of food and how to prepare it since it may help them in their future independent life. This is due to the fact that when leaving parents' house teenagers become responsible for their own life, including responsibility for their nutrition. Therefore, the knowledge of preparation of various meals not only is likely to allow them to eat healthy homemade food but also to save money on not ordering recurring deliveries. For instance, the price of the same meal in a restaurant is about two times higher than the same food prepared at home. However, on the other hand, education provided by schools should concentrate on the learning of more important subjects such as science or linguistic. This is due to the fact that not only will this allow graduates to study at the university and to get a well-paid job but also since these subjects are hard to learn alone unlike cooking. Hence, teens and children should be taught intellectual subjects in order to expand their abilities and develop as personalities while the science of food they can learn by themselves. For instance, more than 60% of interviewed students consider that there should not be a subject which teaches how to cook since it is not useful for their career. Eventually, to conclude, food science can be beneficial for people since it will make their independent life easier, while the focus on more important subjects allows graduates to get a well-paid job which will fund their future. In my opinion, school time should be devoted to learning important subjects since they will make a background for people's future life and career.