Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinion on this?

Globalisation and aircraft technology has made the world extremely small, which have helped immensely in the import and export business throughout the globe. Although some countries still sell the local food grown in their own country, rather than exporting from overseas. In my opinion, I disagree with this approach as there are many small countries, who lack in rich natural resources and cannot fulfil the community demand. Firstly, all countries in the world do not share equal and fertile natural resources. There are many areas in the world where vegetation and resource depletion is the major issue for human survival. Take, for instance, Singapore, the entire country is an island with the population of around 5 million and no fertile land for farming, the country is surrounded by water bodies from all sides. Therefore, people of such countries are immensely dependent on neighbouring countries like Malaysia, Thailand and India for food. Another point to consider is that importing goods will help explore the other varieties of foods available in the different parts of the world. Furthermore, certain types of fruits and vegetables which are high in nutrients and glycemic values are only accessible through import. Take, for example, avocadoes, they are enormously packed with varieties of nutrients, vitamins and good fat, they are the first choice of fruit by the doctors when suggesting patients or public for a healthy diet. For this reason, exploring the diversity of plants and other items will be an advantage. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that the countries should only sell food products produced within their own country as there are numerous countries in the world who needs a helping hand. In addition, cross country vegetation can help unlock countless other diverse edibles.