Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Science is a critical subject that plays an inevitable part of the human development. A group of thinkers believe that scientific activities should be monitored by authorities instead of the public. I strongly disagree with this point of view and I shall put forth my arguments to demonstrate my point in the following paragraph. To begin with, science is one of the compulsory subjects that most of pupils have to learn at schools and its role to the modern life is undeniable. In fact, doing science should not be limitted to only public institutions and it should be available to the overall population. Curiosity is the natural trait of human beings and citizens can be inevaluable resources for scientists in their scientific projects. Additionally, researchers have recently proposed a new and advanced way to ameliorate the quality and reliability of their projects by encouraging and collaborating with other citizens. For example, some popular projects like birdwatching programs which citizens around the world will act as scientists to record various images of birds and upload their results to the project website. As a result, many types of new birds have been discovered which bring crucial values. On the contrary, this can also bring potential drawbacks when governments allow private enterprises research and carry out their own scientific activities. In order to boost the yield or gain popularity, some companies may use less quality ingredients to produce their products which may cause deleterious effects on human life. As a result, local authorities need to implement strict policies to monitor private firms when they conduct their research. To sum up, I believe that science should be available to the population as people may bring enormous resouce for scientists and should not be ignored, however, authorities need to manage effectively private scientific institutions to make sure their products bring no harm to consumers.