Some people think that parents should limit the time their children spend watching TV and playing computer games and encourage them to read books instead. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that the amount of time that children spend watching television and playing games on the computer should be restricted and reading books should be encouraged instead. This essay completely agrees with this statement bečause this would boost children's imagination and improve their cognitive function. Parents should encourage their children to read books and spend less time in front of screens because this can help to stimulate their imagination. That is to say, when children watch TV or play computer games the content is given passively, without the need to think or imagine. On the contrary, when they are reading a book they have to imagine the situation, and this increases their creativity, which is an important skill for several aspects of life. For example, children who frequently read are more likely to become adults that can solve daily problems, because they are more creative and can think outside the box. Furthermore, parents should limit screen time and stimulate reading in their children because this improves their brain function. This is because when children read they can learn new words and grammar structures, enhance their reading comprehension, and improve their memory, among other benefits. Therefore, if they spend more time reading than playing video games, their lexical resources and their ability to understand will increase drastically, helping them to succeed at school. For example, it is well-known that students who read in their spare time outperform students who do not in core subjects, such as maths and science. In conclusion, parents should limit screen time and promote reading books to their children, not only because it helps by developing aids in developing children's imagination, but also because it enhances their cognitive function.