In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, people become more independent and prefer to have privacy space than that in the past. Some section of the society argue that it is negative impact for people to get together and interactive with family members, while I am not supporting this kind of views as the following reasons. It is true that human being is actually a social animal, to interwind with others as the nature of us. Whereas, to live alone or in a simple family structure does not mean that people reject to interact with the others. In fact, live alone can enhance our ability to adapt with the life and reduce the reliance on others, improving people ‘s life skills in many aspects and also helping people become more mature than that they are spoiled by elderly family members. Besides, individuals who have private space may reduce the interruption from the generation gap or some misunderstanding by their old generation, improving their efficiency and concentration on work or studies. On the other hand, some argue that live apart or far away from their relatives will harm to their relationship. This kind of lifestyle will curb their connection with their old generation to the youth. They think grandparents paly an important role in their development, sharing them their cherish experiences or love may help their next generation to shape their personality and also avoid they influenced by the negative things from the society. That is to say, the teenagers with the carefulness attention by their relatives would notice and give advices immediately when they encounter bullying or some troubles when their parents are occupied with work. In conclusion, I do not agree that the relationship would be influenced by the long distances, especially in today’s live with the tons of ways to connect with the others. And live in a small group or alone does not means that people will not willing to connect with others,but actually this kind of styles will remind people be more care about the relationship and be more independence than the old ways.