Some people think people have benefited from modern communication technology, while others think people have not benefited at all. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that people nowadays can easily keep in touch with one another. Advanced technology has an indispensable role to play in the context of many realms of contemporary society. Some people harbor a belief that communication through the internet improves their lives, whilst others hold the reverse viewpoint. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand with the proponents. Initially, the front and center are that modern technology makes the connection much more convenient. There is a growing tendency for people nowadays to either text messages or make phone calls via social media or communication software owing to rapid internet speed. For those youngsters, high-tech allows them to learn more and faster, like distance learning during the pandemic, resulting in a hyper-connected world. Moreover, people occasionally realize the extent of the fact that streaming media can gain connections between individuals. For instance, people could now know what a superstar’s life is via social media or streaming videos. These indicate that modern technology indeed brings some positive effects. Additionally, the advance of the Internet has had a beneficial impact on the growth of cross-border trade and international business, facilitating collaboration between individuals and diverse cultural backgrounds. At the other end of the spectrum, such a vital role does technology play in making human society more dangerous. Considering privacy exposed on the internet, personal information could be misappropriated by hackers. In addition, cybercrimes as well as cyberbullying are getting more and more serious, which has made cybersecurity an important global issue in recent years. In sum, even though high-tech indeed has some merits in communication, and I am convinced that the pros of this outweigh the cons, it is an irreversible trend, and its demerits must not be ignored. Thus, governments must put more effort into cybersecurity to yield the greatest returns on investment.