Many parents complain about violence promoted to their children through video games, TV programs and other media. Why is it happening? What can be the solution for it?

Nowadays, several people denounce how violence gets promoted in video games, television and other media. This trend is certainly true and it is caused, primarily, due to the market demand as violent content is tremendously attractive, then if violence is bought, it will be produced. One possible solution to this issue could be in the same parents, who need to be more aware of what their children are consuming, the government can play a role too. In the following essay, it will be discussed and analysed both the causes and the solutions to this issue. Right now, violence is everywhere, it can be seen on the Internet, TV and video games, according to some adults, violence affects children through these media. This problem has its roots in the profitability of violence, as an example, it can be taken one of the most popular video games in the last two decades, Grand Theft Auto, since its release it has sold millions of copies despite all the critics against its violent content. Games like this are available to children even though they are rated as not suitable for people younger than fourteen. The same happens with news and other media, they feed the public with all kinds of violent reports because the graphs show that it is what viewers watch the most. Although there is no magical solution, some ideas can be helpful to try to amend the problem of violent content being promoted to children. One big step towards the solution might be more awareness campaigns aimed at the parents, as they are responsible for what a child watches or plays. In other words, parents are the ones who buy video games for their children or allow them to watch any program or content on the Internet and therefore, they need to know what are the consequences of having their children exposed to violence. Besides, governments could be more strict with those kinds of products, maybe raising up the prices of violent games or banning certain content in specific hours, this measure has been implemented in the past when explicit scenes of sex were banned from prime time in the USA. To conclude, it is a fact that violence is everywhere and children are over-exposed to it thanks to the media. Unfortunately, the majority of people enjoy and buy violence and that is why it is highly popular even, among children. To correct this, parents should have more control over what children watch and consume. Moreover, the government could set more restrictions on the content.