In some countries younger people are increasingly losing interest in teaching. Why is this happening? What can be done to improve the situation? Give reasons for your answers and include examples from your own experience.

The new generation of few countries is nowadays disinterested in teaching. However, there are various reasons for this, such as; less remuneration and disrespect by the students. The possible solutions are also available like the improvisation of the salary structure of the teachers and making the job more rewarding and respectful. This essay will elaborate on this topic in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, the first and foremost hindrance of the teaching profession is the lower pay scale in comparison with other jobs. The teacher needs to work almost for the entire day sometimes nights also to prepare for effective classes. Moreover, they also have to keep themselves updated with recent knowledge and technologies. The expenses they need to bear for the same are huge, hence candidates are demotivated to get into this career. In addition to that, the students in the present era are more arrogant and notorious towards their educators and this again discourages the newcomer in this profession. According to the survey conducted by the Indian Institute of Secondary Education, 58% of the candidates refused to join teaching institutes because of less pay scale. Thus, it explains why young people are not fascinated with teaching as a career. While looking into the solutions, the emphasis undoubtedly goes on increasing the remuneration for teachers. They should be provided with not only an attractive pay scale but also other benefits like free internet access, travel discounts and incentives on research and publications. On top of that, to make this profession more rewarding, the government should initiate awareness among students to respect their tutors as they are going to shape their future careers. In my neighbourhood, Mr Bhave is a teacher in the high school of my town receives immense appreciation from the school as well as from society for his teaching methodology which really attracts young minds. Many students consider him as a role model. That’s how giving respect to the teachers is incredibly important. In conclusion, the obstacles of the teaching profession are less salary and low respect by society. However, this could be overcome by paying teachers well and in addition to that making students and the society aware so that they could honour their guides.