Some movies are serious, designed to make the audience think. Other movies are designed primarily to amuse and entertain. Which type of movies do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples

With Hollywood growing bigger than ever before, a wide variety of directors have come into the industry to produce unique films. Plots of movies nowadays range from a very basic one made to entertain a family to a much more complex one with a more serious tone created to make people ponder over its plot. I like movies that have a serious tone as well as make a person question its plot In this essay I will discuss why I prefer such films with suitable explanations and examples. Firstly, I like movies that make an individual think about its plot because then it allows the audience to connect with the story on a deeper level because they are looking at it from their point of view. For instance, a film like Tenet, which was released in 2020, had one of the most confusing plots in modern cinema. When the public came together to discuss the story, it got a lot of attention as people were discussing their own interpretation of the movie. Furthermore, similar movies also brought people closer together during the covid-19 pandemic as people all over the world came together to discuss its confusing plot. Therefore, I prefer serious films as it brings the audience closer together to discuss its plot. and allows them to form a deep connection with the story. Secondly, watching such a cinema helps boost the viewer's emotional intelligence as the characters written by the screenwriter are very complex. A survey conducted by Oxford University in 2019 has concluded that movies with complex characters built up at least 78% of the audience's emotional intelligence. However, these statistics only held true if the viewer thought deeply about the film. In addition, these films can help the public realise the issues about the real world as the conflict in these movies might occur in reality as opposed to a comedy movie. In short, these movies can be beneficial to an individual as not only does it helps them increase their emotional quotient but also helps them realise issues happening in reality that needs to be addressed. In conclusion, I prefer serious movies as opposed to comedy movies, as they can connect with the audience in a better way and help increase their emotional quotient.