Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world, it can be seen that technologies have become an integral part of people's life. This essay will discuss whether the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, first of all, the main disadvantage of this is that it decreases the safety of private information. This is because of the fact that due to a high level of development of technologies humans’ personal data can be easily accessed by computer hackers. Therefore, it may be used in actions damaging for people and lead to devastating consequences. For instance, only in recent years, there were more than 1 million hacker attacks in Ukraine. Moreover, another possible drawback of this tendency is the fact that people are spending too much time using the Internet and their ability to learn is likely to decrease. This is due to the fact that people got used to the fact that they may find any answers to any questions on the internet. Hence, the human’s brain perceives this as the signal that it does not have to work hard since useful materials can be easily found on websites. For example, recent research has shown that more and more teenagers spend less time studying and fully trust the internet and the data it provides them with. Eventually, to conclude, the tendency that information technology is getting closer to all our life aspects and activities has more disadvantages than advantages. This is due to the fact that not only may it lead to lower safety and security of personal data but also it may have an impact on the human's brain and its ability to develop.