Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are marries or single. some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that employers should ask personal questions during interviews. However, others oppose this idea. In this essay, I will present both opinions as well as discuss my point of view. The advocates believe that asking interviewees personal questions like hobbies and interests, makes employers understand more the personality of the job seeker. Therefore, the employer will be able to judge whether the interviewee will fit into the company’s culture. For example, airline companies give their employees the benefit of flying for free on a standby basis. If someone does not like travelling, the person will not appreciate this benefit, moreover, they will not be able to share their travelling experiences like everyone else. Isn’t this frustrating? If this happens, employee satisfaction and productivity will decline. The opponents think that personal information could have an adverse effect on the hiring decision. For instance, if the hiring manager knows that the interviewee just had a new baby, the manager may assume that the interviewee may not be able to meet work expectations because of personal commitment. Hence, this new parent may not be hired. Another situation is getting information about where the job seeker live. Employers sometimes reject people living far away because they assume this may affect punctuality. In conclusion, I believe diversity is very important in the workplace. The diversity of thoughts and opinions leads eventually to better decisions. This can be achieved by asking less personal questions like marital status and asking more about work skills and experiences. The less personal info the interviewer has, the less likely they will take a biased hiring decision and the more likely there is diversity.